Fab's AutoBackup forums

Welcome to Fab's AutoBackup technical support forums
Bienvenue sur les forums de support technique de Fab's AutoBackup
  • You are not logged in.

Announcement


Due to a large amount of fake accounts registrations for advertising purpose (spam), this forum does not accept new registrations any longer.
You can still browse existing threads to find the help you are looking for. If you do not find it and have questions, please use this contact form.

====================================

En raison d'un nombre important d'enregistrements de faux comptes utilisateurs à des fins de spam (publicité non sollicitée), il n'est désormais plus possible de s'enregistrer sur les forums de support technique.
Vous pouvez toujours parcourir les sujets existants pour trouver ce que vous recherchez. Si vous ne trouvez pas l'information et avez des questions, veuillez utiliser ce formulaire de contact.

#1 2018-05-20 15:48:12

fredjclaus
Member
Registered: 2018-05-20
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Scheduled backup

I use the Pro version, but I'd like to be able to download the basic program on client computers and set up something to automatically run once a week and save to an external hard drive.  Is there an "Autorun" code I could use to do this on Autobackup 7? Of course I know I need to buy a lincense for each computer I put it on.

Offline

#2 2018-05-20 17:56:28

Fab
Administrator
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 1,250

Re: [SOLVED] Scheduled backup

fredjclaus wrote:

I use the Pro version, but I'd like to be able to download the basic program on client computers and set up something to automatically run once a week and save to an external hard drive.  Is there an "Autorun" code I could use to do this on Autobackup 7? Of course I know I need to buy a lincense for each computer I put it on.

Hello,
Both consumer and pro versions come with an utility called "command line builder".
You can use it to set your custom settings for the automated task. To run the task, you have 2 options:
- Use the built in Windows task scheduler wrapper to set your job triggers.
- Save the command line to a script file to put on your customer's desktop for a manual launch

One thing important to know: the consumer version is not portable like the pro and has to be installed on the customer's computer.


Fab

Offline

#3 2018-05-20 21:01:20

fredjclaus
Member
Registered: 2018-05-20
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Scheduled backup

Thanks Fab, I will have to test that out so I know what I'm doing in the event I have to.  I have some clients who want an online backup, plus a local backup as well, but they don't want to have to think about it. They want to set up a schedule and let the computer do the work.  Right now they use Acronis, but since I am partial to Fab's Autobackup, I was hoping I could do that with you instead. 

The portability doesn't matter since I will have to buy a license for each client anyway, and it will be used on the same machine.  I just need it to be able to run automatically on a schedule.

When I purchase a license, do I have to purchase one for each machine, or just each customer? I have one client in particular that has 3 machines in his location. Would he need 3 licenses or as along as they are all his, the 1 $10.00 consumer license will be enough?

Offline

#4 2018-05-20 21:05:41

Fab
Administrator
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 1,250

Re: [SOLVED] Scheduled backup

fredjclaus wrote:

When I purchase a license, do I have to purchase one for each machine, or just each customer? I have one client in particular that has 3 machines in his location. Would he need 3 licenses or as along as they are all his, the 1 $10.00 consumer license will be enough?

Normally, it is one licence per computer. What you can do is to order bulk packs then resell licenses individually.


Fab

Offline

#5 2018-05-20 21:07:06

fredjclaus
Member
Registered: 2018-05-20
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Scheduled backup

Thanks, I will look into that.

Offline

Board footer